• School Board / BOE

    Group photo of School Board members

    The Bertie County Board of Education is comprised of five elected members each serving a four-year term.  The board is governed by a Chairman of the Board and a Vice-Chairman. According to board policy 1010:

    "The board of education is a body corporate and has general control and supervision of all matters pertaining to the public schools of the school system and the authority to enforce the school law.  All powers and duties conferred and imposed by law respecting public schools, which are not expressly conferred and imposed upon some other official, are conferred and imposed by law upon the board."

    Board Members
    Bobby Occena
    Chair/District 1-2

    Emma Johnson
    Vice-Chair/District 3

    Tarsha Dudley
    District 5

    Jo Davis Johnson
    District 2

    Norman Cherry
    District 4

    Click Here  2018-19 Board Meeting Schedule